8. The National – Graceless

For a long time I had their song ‘I Need My Girl’ on a Suggested Songs playlist I’d hear quite often. It was only after many months I got hooked on it and had to pick up the guitar and vocal chords to learn it.

Then I heard this song. I guess I have a soft spot for 9ths, and the time-altered repetition of the melody (which stays within a perfect 5th including the lower (minor) tonic note. The 2/4 drum beat gives it a constant feel of progression, contrasted with the haunting synth undertones which place the song in a minor key.

What really grabbed me was the chorus and the added instrumentation. Another ‘soundtrack’ song – because we’re all ultra-stars. By the way, favourite lyric: There’s a science to walking through windows without you.

Leave a Reply

